Poet’s Song

DSC04645_0932_edited-1

Pull back morn’s haze of Misty Blue,
as decades slip slowly like grains of sand;
bordered by Broken Dreams and Bruised Pieces
dawdled, delayed till Day’s End vanishes.
 
Within my soul, A Voice calling
drew me as smoke from burning fire;
True Light brought forth a poetic voice
calling, cheering, claiming hope.
 
I was Freed Again from worldly bonds;
my Broken Heart preserved on a walk
through snowy woods beyond Owl’s Song,
even deeper than December’s Moonlight.
 
A Poet’s Song makes music with words,
writes notes in terms of syllables,
draws the reader to the sheet music,
tapping along with hope’s melody past pain.
 
“My heart is steadfast, O God;
I will sing and make music
with all my soul.” Psalm 108:1

 

Though notes do make music; words sing their own tune. All italic words, within the poem, are titles to poems I’ve written throughout the years. Misty Blue being the first poem I remember writing as a young girl to my mother; poets are rooted in the experiences of their lives. Linking up at dVerse…

15 thoughts on “Poet’s Song

  1. hope’s melody past pain…. that’s what touched me most… music and words – i love both – and together it’s just unbelievably powerful

  2. They are unsung lyrics tuned to your heart and soul!They are experiences finding they rhythm in expressions. a very novel approach i must say, stringing poetic expressions!

  3. ah very cool approach…i like how you built this around all your own poem titles…music had a huge influence on my poetry as well…so cool on that first poem being to your mother…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

