I Shall Not Want

DSC03074_edited-1
Before me flow still waters deep
A table waits for me to lay
But I now seek the world’s okay
While fear and pain still weigh me down

I shall not want, my heart does say
As pain now clouds my length of day
My heart does long to seek God’s love
My eyes not fixed, on Him above

Pastures green, my faint vision sees
The valley’s deep, my heart so cold
I long for more but am blindfold
I shall not need is what You say

I shall not want, my heart does say
As pain now clouds my length of day
My heart does long to seek God’s love
My eyes not fixed, on Him above

Shepherd’s staff and rod comfort’s me
God’s mercy I do long to seek
Those streets of gold, my heart now weak
Long to dwell in Your house once more.

I shall not want, my heart does say
As pain now clouds my length of day
My heart does long to seek God’s love
My eyes not fixed, on Him above

Valley’s deep I walk with no guide
Help restore my lack of fresh trust
My sight I long to readjust
Then all my days a life for You

I shall not want, my heart does say
As pain now clouds my length of day
My heart does long to seek God’s love
My eyes not fixed, on Him above

Fear and pain I’m now set free
The blindfold is gone as I now dwell
My trust in You in all my days
My heart now freed, in You I stay


Written as a tribute to the well-known Psalm 23… there’s music over at dVerse today!

14 thoughts on “I Shall Not Want

  1. Written with a depth of feeling and emotion that is readily absorbed with a reading. The lyrics substitute beautifully with the melody that Claudia posted. This is beautiful. I can really feel it.

  2. nice…i kept waiting for the chorus to change to reflect the change in the turn…but i am glad you keep it consistent and let the verse do the work in this….that trust makes all the difference when facing life and its challenges…

  3. psalm 23 is one of my favs… do you know the song by steward townend….the lord’s my sheperd… so beautiful… it’s good to fix our eyes on him..not always so easy though… will see if i find the link to steward’s song…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

